@ Bethnal Green Working Men’s Club
Saturday 29 April 2017
19:30-02:00 (last entry midnight)
£6/8 (adv.) – £8/10 (door)

Dukes and Countesses, Earls and Baronesses, Kings and Queens and all the drag in between (and beyond)… Grab your diamonds and tiaras and come along to ROYAL TRASH for a night of pompous debauchery!

For your exclusive amusement, we unveil our cabinets of curiosities and offer you a spectacle of high class divertissement: expect haute couture fantasies, aristocratic mannerisms and vulgarities, subversive gender-bending telenovelas, exercises in (un)Britishness, beauty pageants and drama queens, voguing sessions, Trans-Coronations and a dethroning of the great white male… With guest of honour ‘UnRoyal Variety’ star Jonny Woo!

Royal Trash Poster

Royal Trash Poster

Deep Trash is a one night only exhibition-cum-performance-club-night featuring live performances, installations, artworks, visuals and videos spread over 3 floors by over 40 artists in East London’s Bethnal Green Working Men’s Club.

For the Royal Trash episode, the venue will be open from 7:30pm, with a 1 hour curated screening on loop, an exhibition area, interactive installations and performances. We will start the night with sexy and sassy electro/house music beats by Julian Von Petrovosky and end with Vogue ballroom ‘realness’ by Jay Jay Revlon. Dressing up (or dressing off) encouraged!

On Thursday 27 April 2017, we have organised the conference Power, Subcultures & Queer Stages at Queen Mary University, London, to introduce some of the artists and their work. Presentations by Daniel Lismore, Jonny Woo, House of Bent, Malik Nashad Sharpe and keynote lecture by Dr. Shaun Cole, Associate Dean and Course Director at London College of Fashion. #queerstages

This programme is supported using public funding by Arts Council England.

PERFORMANCES: Gavino di Vino, Antonis Sideras, Gur Arie Piepskovitz + Lara Buffard + Natalie Wong, The Great White Males, Moa Johansson, La Erreria (House of Bent), Jade Pollard-Crowe, Jonny Woo

VIDEOS: Ana Pastor, Billy Sims, Colette Copeland, Didi Hock, Erik Ivarsdotter, Flora Bradwell & Bella Lordwarf, GLITTER HANGOVER, Instant(S) Female, Jem Raid, Jorge Benavides + Maria Basura, Marie-Claire Messouma Manlanbien, Mataio Austin Dean, OrgyPunk (GRUPO D3 CHOK3), Pablo Pakula, Sarah Goetz, Scott Andrew, Xanthe Dobbie.

ARTWORKS: Joanne Newman, Laura Weyl, Lee Nutbean, Maria Teresa Gavazzi, Paulina Jawor, Philip Shafer, Stephan Groß, Sobia Ahmad, Serge Serum, Sabine Schwaighofer + Martina Mina, Sara Lucas Agutoli, Tom Coates.

MUSIC: Julian Von Petrovosky & Jay Jay Revlon




[Performance Programme]   [Screening Programme]

Arts Council Logo



Sign up to our newsletter here